The Saykally Group

Experimental and Theoretical Physical Chemistry

Graduate Students

Shane Devlin

E-mail: sdevlin@berkeley.edu
B.A. Chemistry (2018), Boston University
Research Interests:
- Broadband DUV-ESFG Spectroscopy
- Soft X-ray FEL Spectroscopy
- Ambient Pressure X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy
Other Interests:
- Outdoor recreation, homebrewing, cycling

desc

Franky Bernal

E-mail: fbernal@berkeley.edu
B.S. Chemistry (2018), California State University, Los Angeles
Research Interests:
- Deep UV Resonant ESHG Spectroscopy
- Ambient Pressure X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy
Other Interests:
- Weightlifting, homebrewing, alternative rock, sports

desc

Erika Riffe

E-mail: erika.riffe@berkeley.edu
B.A. Chemistry (2019), New College of Florida
Research Interests:
- Second Harmonic Scattering Spectroscopy
- Ambient Pressure X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy
Other Interests:
- art, sports (MLB, NFL), cats

desc

Joint Students

Richard Thurston

Research Group: Atomic, Molecular and Opical Sciences, LBNL
E-mail: rlt20@berkeley.edu

desc

Alexander Prophet

Research Group: Wilson Group, LBNL
E-mail: prophet@berkeley.edu
B.A. Chemistry & Mathematics (2018), St. Olaf College
Research Interests:
- Aerosol Chemistry
- Microfluidics
- Mass Spectrometry
- X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy
- X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy
Other Interests:
- Banjo, Guitar, Biking, Hiking

desc

Liron Cohen

Research Group: Wilson Group, LBNL
E-mail: lironcohen@berkeley.edu
BSc University of Toronto (2018) Major: Chemistry. Minors: History and Philosophy of Science, Environmental Chemistry
Research Interests:
- Aerosol and Surface Chemistry
- X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy
- Novel Mass Spectrometry methods
- Sum Frequency Generation Spectroscopy
Other Interests:
- Traveling, baking, cooking

desc

Ryan Reynolds

Research Group: Wilson Group, LBNL
E-mail: ryan.s.reynolds@berkeley.edu
B.S. Chemistry (2019), Biola University
Research Interests:
- Aerosol and Surface Chemistry
- X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy
- X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy
- Aerosol Mass Spectrometry
Other Interests:
- Hiking/backpacking, reading, movies

desc

Yue Sun

Research Group: Orenstein Group, Department of Physics
E-mail: yue.sun@berkeley.edu
B.S. Physics (2019), Nanjing University
Research Interests:
- Optical Properties of Topological Materials
- Phase Transition of Quantum Materials
Other Interests:
- Travel, hiking, table tennis, culinary arts, sports

desc

Anthony Garcia

Research Group: Wilson Group, LBNL
E-mail: agarcia464@berkeley.edu
B.S. Chemistry (2020), University of California, Merced
Research Interests:
- Spectroscopy
Other Interests:
- League of Legends

desc

Emily Brown

Research Group: Wilson Group, LBNL
E-mail: emily_brown@berkeley.edu
B.S. Chemistry (2020), Centre College
Research Interests:
- Aerosol and Surface Chemistry
Other Interests:
- Reading, drawing

desc