Group Members

Paul Alivisatos

Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science & Engineering

Dr. Armand Paul Alivisatos is the University of California (UC) Berkeley's Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. He is also the Founding Director of the Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute (ENSI), Director Emeritus of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, former UC Berkeley Vice Chancellor for Research, and holds professorships in UC Berkeley's departments of chemistry and materials science. In addition, he is a founder of two prominent nanotechnology companies, Nanosys and Quantum Dot Corp, now a part of Life Tech.

Groundbreaking contributions to the fundamental physical chemistry of nanocrystals are the hallmarks of Dr. Alivisatos' distinguished career. His research accomplishments include studies of the scaling laws governing the optical, electrical, structural, and thermodynamic properties of nanocrystals. He developed methods to synthesize size and shape controlled nanocrystals, and developed methods for preparing branched, hollow, nested, and segmented nanocrystals. In his research, he has demonstrated key applications of nanocrystals in biological imaging and renewable energy. He played a critical role in the establishment of the Molecular Foundry, a U.S. Department of Energy's Nanoscale Science Research Center; and was the facility's founding director. He is the founding editor of Nano Letters, a leading scientific publication of the American Chemical Society in nanoscience.

Dr. Alivisatos has been recognized for his accomplishments, with awards such as the Dan David Prize, the National Medal of Science, the Spiers Memorial Award, Axion Award, Wolf Prize in Chemistry, the Von Hippel Award, the Linus Pauling Medal, Computation and Engineering's Nanoscience Prize, the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award, the Rank Prize for Optoelectronics, the Eni Award for Energy and Environment, Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award, Coblentz Award for Molecular Spectroscopy and the Thomas Wilson Memorial Prize. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society.

Dr. Alivisatos received a Bachelor's degree in Chemistry in 1981 from the University of Chicago and Ph.D. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley in 1986. He began his career with UC Berkeley in 1988 and with Berkeley Lab in 1991.

Graduate Students

Arunima Balan

Properties, Energy Applications

B.S. Chemistry and Physics, MIT

Jason Calvin


B.S. Chemistry, Brigham Young University

Jakob Dahl

Nanoparticle Synthesis and Assembly, Energy

B.Sc. Chemistry, MIT

Hyun Dong "Kenneth" Ha

DNA Mediated Self-Assembly

B.S. Chemical Engineering, Hanyang University
M.S. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Matt Hauwiller

Graphene Liquid Cell TEM

B.Sc. Chemical Engineering, University of Minnesota

B.S. Chemistry, University of Minnesota

Brent Koscher

Energy Applications

B.S. Chemistry and Biological Sciences, University of South Carolina

David Nenon

Excited State Dynamics

B.S. Chemistry, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Justin Ondry

TEM, Defects & Structure

B.S. Chemistry/Materials Science, University of California, Los Angeles

Wojciech Osowiecki

Energy Applications, CO2 Reduction

B.S./M.S. Chemistry, Yale University

Priscilla Pieters

Design and Properties of Nanocomposites

MSc Chemistry, University of Groningen

BSc Chemistry, University of Groningen

Joseph Swabeck

Energy Applications

B.S. Chemistry, California State University, Long Beach

Xingzhi Wang

Machine Learning in Nanocrystal Synthesis

B.S. Chemistry, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Assaf Ben-Moshe

Nanoscale Chirality, Phase Transitions

B.S. Chemistry & Biology, Tel Aviv University

Ph.D. Chemistry , Tel Aviv University

Sophia Betzler

In situ Liquid Cell TEM- Electrochemsistry

Humboldt Fellow

Ph.D. Chemistry, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich, Germany

M.Sc. & B.Sc., Chemistry, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich, Germany

Carissa Eisler

Energy Applications

B.S. Chemical Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles

Ph.D. Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology

Vida Jamali

Nanoscale Assembly for Functional Materials

B.Sc. Chemical Engineering, Sharif University of Technology

Ph.D. Chemical Engineering, Rice

Myounghwan Oh

Synthesis and Catalysis

Ph.D. Chemical Engineering, Seoul National University, Korea

Archana Raja

Nanoscale Heterostructures, Properties

Ph.D. Chemical Physics, Columbia University

Integrated M.Sc. Chemistry, IIT Bombay

Chang Yan

Structures and Energy Applications

Ph.D. Chemistry, Stanford University

B.S. Chemistry, Jilin University, China

Visiting Scholar

Mingee Cho

Synthesis and Properties of Oxide Heteronanostructures

B.S. Biomaterials Engineering, Seoul National University

Undergraduate Students

David Abramovitch


Cindy Chan

Gold Nanocrystal Etching

Caralyn Gonzales

Influencing Gold Nanocrystal Chirality

Gaurav Kamat

CO2 Reduction

Cameron McBride

2D Material Functionalization

Lucio Tang

Ligand Binding Kinetics

Andrew Yang

Phase Transitions

Chelsea Yang

Image Analysis, Synthesis

Jessica Yu

Gold Nanocrystal Etching

Research Technician

Zach Nett

B.S. Chemistry, University of Southern California


Negest Williams

Program Manager

Materials Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Copyright Copyright The Alivisatos Research Group. Webmaster: mhauwiller [at] berkeley [dot] edu
This website works best with updated versions of Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome